Go to Villagebet.com.au for free horse racing tips - Click here now
Forum Home Forum Home > Horse Breeding - Public Forums > Breeding Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Thoroughbred Village Home Page. For village news, follow @TBVillage on Twitter. For horseracing tips, follow @Villagebet on Twitter. To contact the Mayor by email: Click Here.

Breeding Gurus - Stallion Noms

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Foal
Foal

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Mountain Man Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Breeding Gurus - Stallion Noms
    Posted: 12 Nov 2018 at 8:11am
I'm in awe of the knowledge you guys glean.  I am a novice breeder who selects more on "type" than anything.  I have ventured into three mares.  All cheap on their third foal and haven't produced anything of note to date as they are early.  But just interested to know more about the matching of generational breeding.
The mares are in NZ and have just been served for the season.  French and Disneyland by O'Reilly and a Pins mare Knockout.  My desire is to breed a horse that gets over ground as I think these mares display staying characteristics in type.  Just wondering from a breeding perspective if you see any NZ horses that match well with these mares under the $15K mark? Thanks
furious View Drop Down
Champion
Champion

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote furious Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Nov 2018 at 10:38am
I operate only on the pedigree side of things but you have three mares with some nice families behind them.